MercurialEclipse and Andrei the “handle it” dude

As I posted previously I was having real trouble with hg and MercurialEclipse.

It turns out a lot of my problems with slowness in decorator updating and startup with Eclipse were related to the number of projects (and maybe size) of my repository. The repo contains 114 projects, a total of 3059 folders and about 98000 files. One project is about 500M, two are about 250M and the rest are pretty small, about half of the projects are only a few K (Eclipse feature projects). About 125 of the files exceed 2MB, 4 exceed 5MB and 1 exceeds 10MB.

I reported a bug on this yesterday http://www.javaforge.com/issue/11928 and immediately Ekke (an hg/MercurialEclipse fan) made some tests and posted them there, Andrei (the MercurialEclipse maintainer) asked several questions and now, less than 48 hours after reporting the bug report, I have received two updates of MercurialEclipse, the second of which reduced the start of time from close to 4 minute to 30 seconds, which is in the acceptable realm.

A while ago I had a similar response from Andrei with a showstopper issue for me which was resolved in less than 24 hours.

I am very happy I made the decision to go with hg, even though it’s a relatively new path from a number of perspectives and the main reason I’m happy about it is that I know that any real problems will be taken care of immediately, and that’s something that’s very rare in this business, no matter how much money you are willing to pay.

Thanks Andrei!

About francisu

Senior Architect at Talend, responsible for data transformation and other cross-product issues. Also committer in Eclipse Platform UI (mainly Common Navigator) and maintainer of Jenkins EC2 plugin.
This entry was posted in DVCS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MercurialEclipse and Andrei the “handle it” dude

  1. ekkehard says:

    francis,
    I’m really glad to see that Andrei’s solutions makes it faster for your project, too.
    those fast responses from hg team fixing bugs and also adding new functionality to work with multi-project-repos were an important point for my decision to start using DVCS with redView using hg.
    the second reason was, that I’m now doing nearly 100% inside eclipse using MercurialEclipse and don’t have to switch to the cmd line. this lowers the entry bar for new developers.
    ekke

Leave a Reply

