Thanks Ed!

I was just doing some work on my product’s code to import XSD definitions, which I have not touched in probably a couple of years and I ran across this comment (in my code):

// This is the effective simple type, either from the baseType
// or the contentType, the XSD stuff figures this out (thanks Ed!)

It brought back memories of initially writing the code when I was new to Eclipse and my product required an XSD importer. Luckily I found Ed’s implementation with the EMF and I could use it standalone which is exactly what I wanted. I was also struck by the quality of the code and its reliability and robustness, all the way down to the fact that the toString()s on all of the objects were consistently helpful. Dealing with XSD is not easy, and this code made it as pleasurable as possible (under the circumstances).

Combine that with the fact that Ed was always immediately responsive to my questions on the newsgroups really impressed me.

Little did I know that one day I would actually be working on Eclipse itself, and have the opportunity to contribute as Ed and others like him have. He and many others in the Eclipse project have set a very high bar for how things ought to work and I only hope that I can live up to this.

About francisu

VP, Architecture at Talend, overall responsible for product architecture and governance. Also maintainer of the Jenkins EC2 plugin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanks Ed!

  1. Ed Merks says:

    Thanks for the exceedingly kind words! My faults are many so I’m happy when I manage to hide them well.

    Sometimes when people thank me for helping them, my sarcastic nature kicks in and I tell them, don’t take it personally, I help everyone just the same.

Leave a Reply

