Moving to a Mac

With my new gig at Talend I have requested a MacBook Pro as a company computer, thinking that since I’m now an architect I will have to do more writing and (god forbid) slides. Of course I will continue to develop software, both for the company and in my open source work. For years, my preferred development platform has been Unix (shows how old I am, I really mean Unix) or Linux. And I have had to work on all three of Windows, Linux and the Mac to test my software. Though I had a Mac, I did not work on it very much. Thanks to Eclipse things just worked there pretty well, I only had a few Mac-specific issues.

So I started to move everything to the Mac and I was shocked at how good it was. Really just good. Everything just feels better than the Ubuntu GUI that I was using (Gnome 3 — I just could not deal with Unity). I spent the money and got the Thunderbolt display and it’s just amazing, so big and clear, and it is essentially a docking station. Everything works fine with my odd keyboard and mouse.

Unfortunately, there is an Eclipse SWT issue (it looks like) which is preventing me from running all 3000 or so of the data transformation unit tests on the Mac, so I have spent a couple of days working on characterizing it, and the thing that I found really shocking about the Mac was Instruments. I could get a ton of profiling information from a running program with an amazing GUI with no effort. By combining this with JProfiler, I should be able to get what I need to characterize (and even possibly fix) this leak problem.

I have never considered having Windows as my daily machine, and now that I have had the Mac, I’m never going back. It’s just that good.

About francisu

VP, Architecture at Talend, overall responsible for product architecture and governance. Also maintainer of the Jenkins EC2 plugin.
This entry was posted in Talend, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

